Perigee-Syzygy

Moon

According to Live Science, Sunday’s supermoon will reach its peak fullness at 7:32 a.m. EDT. EarthKy.org gives the time of peak fullness at different US time zones: 7:32 a.m. EDT, 6:32 a.m. CDT, 5:32 a.m. MDT and 4:32 a.m. PDT. A supermoon is the coincidence of a full moon with the closest approach of the Moon to Earth on its elliptic orbit. The incident results in a relatively large apparent size of the Moon’s disk as seen by observers on Earth. Precisely, it is the full moon observed within 12 hours of the lunar perigee, that is, the point in the Moon’s elliptic orbit which brings it closest to the Earth. At its closest approach to the Earth (perigee), the Moon is at a distance of about 225,622 miles or 363,104 kilometers, and 252,088 miles or 405, 696 kilometers from the Earth at its farthest, or apogee.
Read more: http://www.digitaljournal.com/article/352804#ixzz2Wye6TnDD

Advertisements

One thought on “Perigee-Syzygy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s