An Open Letter to SWA @SouthwestAir

(Look! Tweets as citations!)
I’m confused by the inconsistency of the use of “security issue” for Kevin Smith and then the comment of “all passengers deserve their space.”
I agree with the space comment, however, SWA needs to enforce it consistently with ALL passengers, such as: small irritating children, irritating adults, people reclining ALL the way back so that I have to look at their heads instead of my book and any people who regularly hog the arm rests and elbow me in the side (tall people, small people, long-armed people, people with HUGE laptops and all their accoutrements, etc. Basically all humans.)

“(1/2) Hey @SouthwestAir? Fuck making it right for me just ’cause I have a platform. I sat next to a big girl who was chastised for not buy-”
http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith/status/9084486059
“(2/2) ing an extra ticket because “all passengers deserve their space.” Fucking flight wasn’t even full! Fuck your size-ist policy. Rude…”
http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith/status/9084583949

Seriously, when I fly SWA I understand that I am flying a discount airline (and there’s nothing wrong with that or them; I just want to get where I’m going and no frills is just fine.) and that a steerage seat size is smaller than first class seats. I even know that I will be crowded occasionally (even more so with the cutdown/wholesale cancellation in flights due to weather/infrastructure suckage/cost cutting.) Its part and parcel.
But this flight wasn’t totally full.

Also, if he was a security risk, why was he immediately issued a ticket for the next flight? How had his status materially changed?
I question the logic and judgment of this crew.
Even the mysterious Suzanne (wouldn’t give last name) agreed:

“So, @SouthwestAir, go fuck yourself. I broke no regulation, offered no “safety risk” (what, was I gonna roll on a fellow passenger?). I was
http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith/status/9079364627
wrongly ejected from the flight (even Suzanne eventually agreed). And fuck your apologetic $100 voucher, @SouthwestAir. Thank God I don’t”
http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith/status/9079483306

Playing devil’s advocate: I’ve read Kevin Smith’s Twitter feed; and to be very kind: he’s puerile.
Having never met him or hung around him for any sort of extended period of time, I’m only basing my opinion of him on his stream of inanities and his movies. Perhaps he was being a pain in the arse that I imagine him to be.
Also, he mentioned that he’d been recognized.

“bag is up, and I’m seated WITH ARM RESTS DOWN. In front of a packed plane with a bunch of folks who’d already I.d.ed me as “Silent Bob.”
http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith/status/9079312329

Were the other passengers getting all riled up over Silent Bob? And was Silent Bob being Not So Silent Bob?

In any event SWA needs a consistent policy (and have their employees enforce it to the letter of the established policy) across the airline.
Arbitrary decisions are unfair and have been a source of controversy in the past for Southwest as well. This is almost as offensive as pharmacists making medical decisions about what the will and won’t dispense based on THEIR religious beliefs.

I’ll tell you all the same thing: IF YOU WORK FOR A COMPANY. IT ISN’T ABOUT YOU. IF YOU DON’T AGREE, THEN GO ELSEWHERE.
I don’t care if you like puppies, have a profound relationship with your god, are a vegetarian and are a pretty darn good painter… so was Hitler.
What I do care about is you doing your job as prescribed by the company and not letting your personal hatred and/or prejudice get in the way of your duty as well as you being a positive advertisement for your company at large with each interaction I have with you. In return I’ll do my best not to spill cranberry juice all over you, I will say please and thank you as well as actually WATCH when you repeat the safety information that I have seen literally hundreds of times without it changing more than 1%. I’ll also be as pleasant and professional as I can despite the crap that goes along with airline travel… but I won’t be a doormat if you are just being a dick.

I had been a fan of SWA but this gives me significant pause… and I certainly don’t understand the thinking behind this since this was a return flight for him and apparently he wasn’t too fat for the flight out or the next flight leaving from Oakland.

So to recap:

1. he was deemed a “security issue”
2. they had a “safety-concern over his seat belt”
3. he had allegedly broken the obscure rule of “all passengers deserve their space.”
4. Captain Leysath has a problem with him/his weight but two other pilots/crews did not within a 1 week span.

Which one is the real reason this shit all went down?

Because hiding behind power that should be wielded for legitimate national security concerns (bombs in underpants, stupid looking men with shoe bombs) over random fat people hatred is crap(or is Captain Leysath a fundie who didn’t like Dogma?).
But I bet you money that other people have already been ejected because they were deemed too fat by a pilot and then shunted to another flight with absolutely no difference and not a peep was made because mere mortals don’t have a huge following.

“Fuck making it right for me just ’cause I have a platform.”

=================================================

More stuff:

“Hey @SouthwestAir! I’ve just recorded a Very Special Episode of SModcast – all for you. It goes live tomorrow night. http://www.smodcast.com
http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith/status/9088969528
“@ThatKevinSmith Ok, I’ll be sure to check it out. Hopefully you received our voicemail earlier this evening.”
http://twitter.com/SouthwestAir/status/9089048580
“@ThatKevinSmith Again, I’m very sorry for the experience you had tonight. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do.”
http://twitter.com/SouthwestAir/status/9089068708

Its gotta suck to be the person who has to defend the person/s who did all this…also I am cranky at them because the won’t let me install their app on my iPod Touch…sigh.

Leave a Reply

