The thanksgiving without an oven…or pie.

(Just for the record I will never ever ever buy a Kitchen Aid stove now. Useless. Unreliable. POS.)
I'll try not to let this turn into a rant…and will add photos when my SD card from my fancy camera gets found again. Sigh.

So, turkey day.
It actually was 'turkey' day this year. Normally I do cornish game hens as I hate dried out roast turkey (and even those folks who fancy themselves fabulous turkey roasters are kidding themselves… its dry, baby.) but we managed to find a small enough turkey to fit into the rotisserie. I can't even tell you how good my freakin' Ronco rotisserie is….yum.

That was about the only thing that worked in my opinion (Timmy and Tex will vouch otherwise.) but the oven went up to temperature for about 45 minutes then stopped going above pilot lite level.

My cornbread looked like hell… dried out dough.

My veggies fared better (acorn squash, roast veg plate) but didn't really get to that settled in yumminess that I like about roasting things.

I had to finish everything in a tiny microwave/convection oven and while they cook stuff, they don't roast or make it taste the way I want it to taste.
Grr.

So we had turkey (which was marvelous) mostly roasted veg, mashed sweet potatoes (rewarmed in the little oven), acorn squash with corn souffle… and no pie.

Well there was pie, but I didn't get any.

Tex was bitching about how he hates pumpkin pie so I thought to myself, "Self, let's make a pumpkin pie" because I am mean that way.
Actually, that isn't the whole story, what he said in total was "I hate pumpkin pie. But once they roasted a pumpkin and made it into a pie and I loved it."
Aha.

So he doesn't like pumpkin pie mix….I don't much either, but people at work had been eating pumpkin pie for the last three weeks and I kinda wanted my 1-slice-in-every-10-years slice. As the intarweb is my reference library, I googled pumpkin pie and cream cheese (because I was thinking something with a bit of creaminess and more toward a cheesecake might be good.) then I bought pumpkin puree at Whole Foods and went after it.

Using Paula Deen's recipe as a basis for the filling (my actual recipe below) I put it in my standard pie crust …and the first tiny snip tasted good but it took so long to cook the fucker in the tiny excuse for a convection oven that I had to leave when it was just coming out of the oven to get home to Bunnycat…and that was ALL I got until the following week where I actually got more of the pie.
Yay.

The Pumpkin Pie That Tex Actually Likes
    *  1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
    * 2 cups canned pumpkin, pureed
    * 3/4 cup sugar
    * 1/4 teaspoon salt
    * 1 egg plus 2 egg yolks, slightly beaten
    * 1 cup manufacturing cream
    * 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) melted butter
    * 1 teaspoon vanilla paste
    * 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
    * 1  pie dough
    * Whipped cream, for topping

Directions

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place 1 piece of pie dough down into a souffle dish and press down along the bottom and all sides. Put the pie shell back into the freezer for 1 hour to firm up.  Bake for 20 minutes or until the crust is dried out and beginning to color.

For the filling, in a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese with a hand mixer. Add the pumpkin and beat until combined. Add the sugar and salt, and beat until combined. Add the eggs mixed with the yolks, half-and-half, and melted butter, and beat until combined. Finally, add the vanilla and spices if using, and beat until incorporated.

Pour the filling into the warm prepared pie crust and bake for an hour, or until the center is set. Place the pie on a wire rack and cool to room temperature. Cut into slices and top each piece with a generous amount of whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

