Roasted Corn Pudding in Acorn Squash Recipe for Mabon

Happy Mabon, y'all!
In honor of the harvest festival on the Autumnal Equinox, I made a harvest-y dinner last night.

Here is the original recipe that showed up in my Google Reader from 101Cookbooks yesterday:
http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/roasted-corn-pudding-in-acorn-squash-recipe.html

roasted_squash_recipe
original photo by Heidi Swanson  101Cookbooks.com

Isn't that beautiful?

I edit things to my tastes, primarily to remove things I know I don't like (star anise) or to remove things that would kind of kill me (scallions, still…sigh)…though I would love to have had scallions in mine.

Here is my version:

Roasted Corn Pudding in Acorn Squash Recipe for Mabon

2 acorn squashes, cut in half lengthwise and seeded
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup half & half
1 egg plus 2 egg whites
2 ears fresh corn kernels
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon garlic
1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1/3 cup grated 2yr Black Wax Cabot cheddar cheese
1 sliced apple ( I used Honeycrisp because the name reminded me of autumn. Any tart apple will do.)


1. Turn on your oven to 350 F
2. Cut the acorn squash in half and scoop out the seeds with a spoon
3. Drizzle olive oil and salt on the squash
4. Cook acorn squash until fork tender (~50 minutes)

5. Mix 1 egg plus 2 egg whites, 1 cup half & half, 2 ears fresh corn kernels, 1/4 teaspoon garlic, 1 cup grated parmesan cheese in a bowl (I suppose you could mix it on the counter instead of in a bowl, but it might get very messy.)

6. To keep the mixture from running out of the squash, I took a pair of tongs, turned over the squash and sliced a bit off the bottom to make a flat surface. Then set it back onto the roasting plate, filled them 3/4 full with the mixture and put them back into the oven.

I lowered the temperature to 325F at this point so that I didn't scald the mix.
It will set up in about 30-40 minutes. Test them for consistency around this point; you can pull them out earlier if you wanted more of a soup consistency or longer for a more firmly set pudding.

There was extra mix just as Ms. Swanson mentioned in her version, so I put it in a small oven safe bowl and baked it along with the rest of the squash.

7. Place on serving dish and grate white cheddar over the squash. I used a  2yr Black Wax Cabot cheddar cheese recommended to me by Jennifer… and it was spectacular in combination with the slightly sweet pudding and acorn squash mix. (I didn't brown the cheese in the broiler, but you can if that makes you happy.)

A tart white wine (not too sweet) or even a apple cider reduction drizzled on top would be really good with this… or go simply with the sliced apples that we had on the side.

Blessed be, y'all!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Corn Pudding in Acorn Squash Recipe for Mabon

  1. What do you do with the apple? I’m making this right now and read this four times, am I just missing it? I’ll leave the apple out and let you know how it turns out. I also used shallots instead of onions and added half of an orange sweet pepper (just because I had those and thought that they might work well).

  2. The shallots and the sweet pepper were perfect with this. I used can corn since I didn’t have fresh and I “roasted” everything in a cast iron fry pan. I don’t think it missed the apple. I plan to try this without the cheese next time and perhaps add a little roasted pine nuts. But this recipe that you have is yummy. My son ate a whole half a squash! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

