Weekend recap

Priority items first: Bunny is GREAT. (I didn’t post on Saturday and Mama texted me a little worried – she knows I just shut down when bad things happen, I think I posted it on Facebook though.)
No bloodwork back yet, but the vet was super impressed that she gained 2 whole pounds and is eating all the time.
He seemed concerned and asked how much regular cat food I was giving her but wasn’t all that upset when it only turned out to be about 10-15% of her food all day.
He said he had planned to test for hyperthyroid, but that since she hadn’t lost weight (and kept it on without me using the anti-nausea medicine AT ALL) he didn’t need to test for it.
He said keep doing exactly what I am doing, its clear she’s thriving (and I told him about her being excited about the renal diet food and trotting though the house, then levitating on to the very high bed and he looked thoughtful and said “amazing. at 17 even.”) and I might not have to bring her back for 4 months this time depending on the numbers.
I got a second prescription for a different brand of renal diet food to maybe get her off the regular cat food – it wasn’t a problem with Bunny needing the flavor, but when I tried to move her only onto the renal stuff, she got a bit runny and I sort of freaked out and didn’t want to lose any ground by letting her get anywhere near dehydrated again. So I went back to the previous mix. He said that was weird but if it made a difference, definitely keep her hydrated. I asked if he wanted to give me another script for a different kind of food to try to see if that would work instead, he did and I need to order it today..can’t find anything locally at all.

Saturday had started off way too early.
At 5 am (you know, that time I don’t ever want to see) Bunny was jumping up and down on me a little worried. I figured that she was just hungry, so I rearranged her food only to find that the ants were there before me.
So I dragged my arse out of bed, fed her in the kitchen so we’d have about 5 hours in between feeding and the vet visit (they say 12 hours, but it is just too hard on her to go that long without. I told the vet that and that the last time we came in she didn’t do 12 hours either and the numbers held steady then as well. We shall see, but I’m still not going to torture my cat when I know I can prevent it.). Then I attacked the ants with the Method Grapefruit Wipes and spray. Works like a charm, but I’m not charming at 5 am, so I made coffee and watched some infomercials.
I knew if I went back to sleep I’d miss the vet appointment, but I catnapped anyway and woke up just in time to throw clothes on, catch Bunny and go.
She was utterly unamused by this trip.
Survived the trip there, the appointment and back home (Bunny didn’t unwind as much as she had previously, so she sulked for a little while when I got back.) I knew if I fell asleep I was going to sleep all day, so Tex and I went to Mikey and Lee’s and got some errands done, had some AMAZING ribs then came home to feed the Bunny.
She’d forgiven me by then.
Sunday I got a harebrained scheme to fix my closet that refuses to be tidy. I moved my Elfa drawers back into the actual (and woefully inadequate) closet then decided to add another hanger rod where it used to be (here is a pic of the set, but it is two iterations out of date… the luggage was where the Elfa drawers were and now the new hanger rod.) to hang all my trail clothes/cold weather clothes/favorite new thing du jour.
Have I mentioned I LOVE Stolmen? Its like a closet version of Tinkertoys.
I got more hangers at Ikea on a kamikaze run last night before they closed (I was feeling that manic feeling where I’d never sleep if I didn’t get this done RIGHT THEN) as well as that light that I wanted originally, a new dish scrubby and some skirt hangers. Got it all hung and leveled (with the help of a free iPod touch app ;) ) and my clothes are being arranged slowly. I need a few more of those padded pants hangers from Target, but they were out of stock yesterday when we went. I’ll go today after the doctor’s appointment. (Podiatrist, the foot is immensely better, but still not there… it feel crunchy when I accidentally roll on it and that squicks me out something fierce.)
I’m tired and busy (nothing new) and all I want to do is hang out with the Bunny and either read or design new closet iterations (nothing new).Still need to win the lotto, but it is being recalcitrant.

One thought on “Weekend recap

  1. this week is already dedicated to keeping me from going able sugar [ask Mikey]. so no designing closets, instead designing biz cards, fixing websites, … yez? or momma cat will wig out, especially since you will be oot this weekend. plez?

Leave a Reply

