I’ve got a theory…

that I did this to my foot:

Fifth Metatarsal Fracture
What is a fifth metatarsal fracture?

The metatarsals are the long bones of the feet. The fifth metatarsal is the outermost foot bone and connects to the little toe. A fracture is a break in a bone.
How does it occur?

A fifth metatarsal fracture can occur several ways and break in several places.
Avulsion fracture: This occurs when the foot or ankle rolls in (an inversion injury). When this happens a tendon that attaches a muscle to the fifth metatarsal can pull off a piece of the bone.

How is it treated?

The treatment depends on the type of fracture you have. There are several ways to treat each type of fracture.
Avulsion fracture: This can be treated by wearing a stiff-soled shoe or a removable cast boot for 4 to 6 weeks. You will usually be on crutches until you can walk without pain.
[source]

My guess is that when I go in, they will do an xray and tell me its minor and to keep wearing my Keen’,s be nice to it (I can walk, but I can feel it wiggling around in there…ew, but it actually doesn’t hurt too much) … basically continue status quo.

I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “I’ve got a theory…

  1. think i did something similar Monday, but no ‘pop’ or ‘snap’ [or crackle either], just rolled my left foot under a bit as i stepped off the curb, in the dark, at the rental car lot. sore, but not swollen or discolored. ankles are getting swollen some but that is from sitting at the computer for hours per day, working on the marketing stuff. are you going in this week? i thought you were going Thursday if it kept hurting. but then, if you know the Dx and Rx, go for it, ol’ Doc Fredlet.

Leave a Reply

